Seven From MIT Elected To American Academy Of Arts And Sciences For 2016

Thursday, April 21, 2016

Six MIT faculty members and the chair of the MIT Corporation are among 213 leaders from academia, business, public affairs, the humanities, and the arts elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the academy announced this week.

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy publications, as well as studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, the humanities and culture, and education.

Those elected from MIT this year are:

  • Andrea Louise Campbell, the Arthur and Ruth Sloan Professor of Political Science and head of the Department of Political Science;
  • Victor Chernozhukov, professor of economics;
  • Pavel Etingof, professor of mathematics;
  • John Gabrieli, the Grover M. Hermann Professor in Health Sciences and Technology;
  • Jacqueline Hewitt, professor of physics and director of the Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research;
  • Vann McGee, professor of philosophy; and
  • Robert Brian Millard ’73, chair of the MIT Corporation.

“It is an honor to welcome this new class of exceptional women and men as part of our distinguished membership,” said Don Randel, Chair of the Academy’s Board of Directors. “Their election affords us an invaluable opportunity to bring their expertise and knowledge to bear on some of the most significant challenges of our day. We look forward to engaging these new members in the work of the Academy.”
The new class will be inducted at a ceremony held on Oct. 8 in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Since its founding in 1780, the academy has elected leading “thinkers and doers” from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the 18th century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the 19th century, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the 20th century. The current membership includes more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

References and Downloads