NASA Awards Astrophysics Postdoctoral Fellowships For 2023

Monday, April 10, 2023
by Keith Cowing

The class of 2023 NHFP Fellows are shown in this photo montage (left to right, top to bottom): The Einstein Fellows (seen in the blue hexagons) are: Andrea Sylvia Biscoveanu, Andrei Cuceu, Kristen Dage, Peter Kosec, Calvin Leung, Matthew Liska, Lia Medeiros, Justin Pierel, and Maria Vincenzi. The Hubble Fellows (seen in the yellow hexagons) are: Iryna Butsky, Tim Cunningham, Thavisha Dharmawardena, Nicholas Kern, Cassandra Lochhaas, Ekta Patel, Katherine (Wren) Suess, and Jiayi Sun. The Sagan Fellows (seen in red hexagons) are: Danica Adams, Adina Feinstein, Ward Howard, Andrés Izquierdo, Charles Law, Jessica Spake, and Margaret (Maggie) Thompson. CREDIT NASA, Megan Crane (IPAC)

ASA has selected 24 new Fellows for its prestigious NASA Hubble Fellowship Program (NHFP). The NHFP is one of the highlights of NASA’s pursuit of excellence in astrophysics.

The program enables outstanding postdoctoral scientists to pursue independent research in any area of NASA Astrophysics, using theory, observations, simulations, experimentation, or instrument development. Over 450 applicants vied for the 2023 fellowships. Each fellowship provides the awardee up to three years of support.

Once selected, fellows are named to one of three sub-categories corresponding to three broad scientific questions that NASA seeks to answer about the universe:

  • How does the universe work? – Einstein
  • Fellows How did we get here? – Hubble Fellows
  • Are we alone? – Sagan Fellows

“Congratulations to this year’s Fellows, who have all proposed inspiring research programs that speak to the excitement and opportunity of this era in astrophysics,” said Mark Clampin, director of the Astrophysics Division at NASA Headquarters in Washington. “I look forward to seeing their discoveries shape our knowledge of the universe.”

The newly selected NHFP Fellows will begin their programs in the fall of 2023 at a university or research center of their choosing in the United States. The list below provides the names of the 2023 awardees, their fellowship host institutions, and their proposed research topics.

Read more…