Webcast Of The 2014 Kavli Prize Announcements

Thursday May 29, 2014 8:30 am

Webcast of the 2014 Kavli Prize Program from the World Science Festival in New York City.

From the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Oslo and the World Science Festival, New York. Webcast from the World Science Festival includes a tribute to Fred Kavli with Alan Alda, Brian Greene and Dr. Eric Kandel, and a panel discussion about the year’s winning accomplishments with Lord Martin Rees, 2012 Kavli Prize Laureate Ann Graybiel and Paul Weiss. The Academy webcast includes a discussion with the Kavli Prize committee chairs. See webcasts

The Kavli Prize in Astrophysics is shared by Alan H. Guth, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA, Andrei D. Linde, Stanford University, USA, and Alexei A. Starobinsky, Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia. They received the prize “for pioneering the theory of cosmic inflation.”

The Kavli Prize in Nanoscience is shared by Thomas W. Ebbesen, Université Louis Pasteur, Université de Strasbourg, France, Stefan W. Hell, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, Germany, and Sir John B. Pendry, Imperial College London, UK. They received the prize “for their transformative contributions to the field of nano-optics that have broken long-held beliefs about the limitations of the resolution limits of optical microscopy and imaging.”

The Kavli Prize in Neuroscience is shared by Brenda Milner, Montreal Neurological Institute, McGill University, Quebec, Canada, John O’Keefe, University College London, UK, and Marcus E. Raichle, Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine, USA. They received the prize “for the discovery of specialized brain networks for memory and cognition.”

Read full press release; Read citations


Source: Kavli Foundation